The Place Beyond the CDRS

Report back from my time at Columbia U – CDRS.

The Lib Pub

Last week, I was honored to serve as a Visiting Scholar at Columbia University Libraries Center for Digital Research and Scholarship (CDRS). It all began with a wayward tweet, the details of which are collected as a Storify, but I wanted to also “problemitze” and “interrogate” (my favorite, gold standard cultural studies lingo) my impressions as they are still fresh in my mind. Beyond the good conversations, what did I learn about the state of library publishing? Or, really, what did I learn about libraries doing good, interesting, productive work outside of what is considered the traditional library role? For the first time in my life, I took really good notes, so lets see what I can mash them into…

First, its difficult for me to reflect on CDRS detached from the personalities that drive it. Much of my desire to spend time there was due to connections I made…

View original post 1,165 more words

Leave a Reply

